Thursday, March 26, 2009

TRIVIA : Tears For Fears

Tears For Fears (abbreviated TFF) are a popular English pop band formed in the early 1980s by Roland Orzabal and Curt Smith, which emerged after the dissolution of their first band, the mod-influenced Graduate.

Mad World - This was Tears For Fears' first ever UK hit. It was produced by Chris Hughes, a former drummer with Adam and the Ants.

Everybody wants to rule the world - This was the first US #1 hit for Tears For Fears. "Shout" went to #1 2 months later. Curt Smith, one of the 2 members of Tears For Fears, did a solo, acoustic version of this for the soundtrack to The Private Public, a 2001 movie where he made his acting debut.

A haunting cover of "Mad World" by Michael Andrews and Gary Jules was featured on the soundtrack to the cult film Donnie Darko and reached UK Number 1 spot for Christmas 2003. "Head Over Heels" was also used in the film. Despite chart-topping success in the USA, Tears for Fears themselves had yet to reach the top spot in their native country. The timing of the Gary Jules "Mad World" cover led many critics to accuse Tears for Fears of reforming to capitalise financially on the single's success, when in fact they had reformed years before the cover was recorded.

In a nod to quantum physics, the band recorded a b-side called Schrödinger's Cat, its on the single "Break it down again", and there is a lyrical reference in God's Mistake to Einstein's famous quote, "God does not play dice."

On "The Hurting" album at 0:19 during The Prisoner, a voice can be heard saying "The prisoner!"

Pale Shelter was the band's fifth single release (the third taken from their debut LP The Hurting) and third UK Top 5 chart hit. The single was re-issued, after the first one failed to chart a year prior. To provide a chart push the second time around, Mercury Records took full advantage of the picture disc and coloured vinyl gimmicks that were popular throughout the 1970's and early 1980's. In all, twelve different variations of the single were available for purchase. The b-side, "We Are Broken", is an early version of the song "Broken", which would later appear in re-recorded form on Tears for Fears' sophomore LP Songs from the Big Chair. The song is featured in the 2002 PlayStation 2 videogame Grand Theft Auto: Vice City as part of the New Wave radio station Wave 103.

In addition to co-producing most of Tears for Fears' records, Orzabal also produced Oleta Adams' successful album "Circle Of One" (1990) along with Dave Bascombe, following on from Adams' collaboration on the 1989 Tears for Fears album The Seeds Of Love. The album reached #1 in the UK and was top 20 in the US. Orzabal also co-wrote the lead track "Rhythm of Life" for the album, which was initially intended for The Seeds Of Love. In 1999, Orzabal also co-produced the Icelandic singer/songwriter Emiliana Torrini's acclaimed album Love In The Time Of Science, along with Tears for Fears associate Alan Griffiths. The pair also wrote two tracks for the album.

Orzabal has been married to his wife Caroline since 1982. They have two children, Raoul and Pascal.

Roland Orzabal's full name is Roland Jaime Orzabal de la Quintana. Born on 22 August 1961, in Portsmouth, England. Orzabal's mother is English and his father is from Paris, but of Spanish descent. Orzabal was originally named "Raoul" at birth, but this was changed to Roland shortly after. As well as his native English, he is fluent in French and Spanish.

Curt Smith (born June 24, 1961, Bath, Somerset, England) was originally in the ska influenced band Graduate and had also been in a band called Neon, featuring future members of Naked Eyes.

No comments: